Sale Maffra greats honored
Date of Event Sale-Maffra Cricket Association: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:35PM

Sale Maffra Cricket Association has had several current and former players honoured at the Gippsland Cricket League's 50th anniversary dinner.


The following cricketers were awarded the title of Champion of Gippsland cricket.   The qualification for this award was between 4 and 7 G.C.L. All-Gippsland caps and/or V.C.C.L. caps.  

Barrie Wrigglesworth (7 caps - Bundalaguah), Len Hall, (5 caps - Heyfield), Dean Thatcher (6 caps - Heyfield & Sale) and Trevor Wrigglesworth (4 caps - Bundalaguah). 

A further 25 cricketers from the Region were also similarly honoured.

The following players were awarded the title of Legend of Gippsland cricket.  The qualification for this award was 8 or more G.C.L. All-Gippsland caps and/or VCCL caps. 

Neil Tatterson (9 caps - Rosedale-Kilmany and Stratford) and Dean Benson (9 caps - Sale). 

A further 8 cricketers from the region including Ray Hack who played the majority of his cricket with Bairnsdale also received this honour; Ray who also won a total of nine G.C.L. caps won three of these while playing for Sale-Maffra in the late 60's and early 70's.  Ray played for both Longford and Sale while residing in the Sale area. 

The awards were a little skewed towards later day achievements.  The Gippsland Cricket League, which played its first matches in 1956, did not name an All-Gippsland team until the 1961/62 season and the VCCL caps have only been awarded since 1985 when the Australian Country Cricket Championships began.

Barrie Wriggleworth was also one of seven Region 7 life members who received a commemorative medallion featuring the new Gippsland Pride logo.  Barrie received his life membership many years ago in recognition of long standing service to the VCCL Zone and later Region.  He was also awarded life membership to the VCCL parent body last year.

Last updated: Sunday May 21, 2023 9:17PM
Author: David Anderson